logo
logo
logo

Hodan-Ali Farah
Balaclava & Displacement

Hodan-Ali Farah

Hodan-Ali Farah was born in Bremen and moves along the intersections of art, activism and political education. She is concerned with the continuities of Bremen's colonial heritage and the resulting realities of Black people in Bremen.

She understands her works as political and resistant, as they are expressions and reflections of a reality in which colonial continuities exist and influence perceptions and experiences - they imprint themselves on the image of a city and yet remain invisible.



Balaclava & Displacement

Balaclava & Displacement is a processual exploration of the invisibility & hyper-visibility of people affected by racism. It is a look at the paradoxes of the neighborhood, which on the one hand is praised and sought out for its multiculturalism (Das Viertel is colorful, loud and dirty.), while the stay for Black people, Sinti*ze and Rom*nja, People of Color and all those who do not fit into the white middle class norm is monitored, controlled and punished according to the colonial heritage.

What are the ways out of this hypervisibility?

To what extent can withdrawal from this hyper-visibility be self-empowering?

And what can resistance look like?




instagram | mail | facebook

Impressum | Datenschutz

logo
logo
logo

Hodan-Ali Farah
Balaclava & Verdrängung

Hodan-Ali Farah

Hodan-Ali Farah ist gebürtige Bremerin und bewegt sich entlang der Intersektionen von Kunst, Aktivismus und politischer Bildungsarbeit. Sie beschäftigt sich mit den Kontinuitäten des kolonialen Erbe Bremens und den daraus resultierenden Lebensrealitäten Schwarzer Menschen in Bremen.

Sie versteht ihre Arbeiten als politisch und widerständig, da sie Ausdrücke und Reflexionen einer Realität sind, in der koloniale Kontinuitäten bestehen und das Erleben und Erfahren beeinflussen – sie prägen sich in das Bild einer Stadt und bleiben dennoch unsichtbar.



Balaclava & Verdrängung

Balaclava & Verdrängung ist eine prozesshafte Auseinandersetzung mit der Unsichtbarkeit & Übersichtbarkeit rassismusbetroffener Menschen. Es ist ein Blick auf die Paradoxien des Viertels, welches zum einen für seine Multikulturalität (Das Viertel ist bunt, laut und dreckig.) gelobt und aufgesucht wird, während der Aufenthalt für Schwarze Menschen, Sinti*ze und Rom*nja, People of Color und alle, die nicht in die weiße Mittelschichts-Norm passen, gemäß dem kolonialen Erbe überwacht, kontrolliert und bestraft wird.

Welche Wege gibt es aus dieser Hypervisibilität?

Inwieweit kann ein Entzug aus dieser Übersichtbarkeit selbstermächtigend sein?

Und wie kann Widerständigkeit aussehen?





instagram | mail | facebook

Impressum | Datenschutz